SIGCSE Awards for 2024

The SIGCSE Board is honored to announce the 2024 ACM SIGCSE Award winners:

  • The 2024 ACM SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Computer Science Education has been awarded to Michael Caspersen, Managing Director, It-vest – networking universities & Honorary Professor, Department of Computer Science, Aarhus University, Denmark.

  • The 2024 ACM SIGCSE Award for Lifetime Service to the Computer Science Education Community has been awarded to Chris Stephenson, Computer Science Education Strategy Consultant, Google.

  • The 2024 ACM SIGCSE Award for Broadening Participation in Computing Education has been awarded to Jandelyn (Jan) Plane, Emeritus Lecturer of Computer Science, University of Maryland College Park & Associate Professor of Computer and Data Sciences, Ripon College, USA.

  • The 2024 ACM SIGCSE Test of Time Award has been awarded to: Evaluating a new exam question: Parsons problems by Paul Denny, Andrew Luxton-Reilly, and Beth Simon. 2008. In Proceedings of the Fourth international Workshop on Computing Education Research (ICER ‘08). Association for Computing Machinery, New York, NY, USA, 113–124. DOI:

The winners will be recognized at the SIGCSE Technical Symposium in Portland, Oregon, USA, March 20-23, 2024.

Please join us in congratulating these upstanding members of the SIGCSE community.

For more information about these awards including how to nominate someone, and lists of previous winners, please visit

Congratulations again to the 2024 ACM SIGCSE Awardees!

Brett A. Becker ACM SIGCSE Vice Chair